The Town of Twillingate is steeped in history. In spring time the Labrador current carries icebergs down the coast announcing the arrival of Humpback whales, porpoises, and puffins.
Here are a few interesting facts about Twillingate:
1738, 12 families spend the winter in Twillingate.
1750 (ca) John Slade of Poole becomes involved in the fishery at Twillingate, and soon establishes a significant commercial presence.
1750s (ca), St. Peter's Anglican Church is constructed. One of the oldest wooden churches in North America.
1798, Population of Twillingate and area is 400.
1799, The first clergyman arrives, Rev. John Jones.
1829, The first permanent school is established.
1818, Demasduit or Mary March is captured and brought to Twillingate.
1867, Georgina Stirling (d. 1935) is born. As Marie Toulinguet she becomes one of the world's most well known opera singers, performing in Milan, Paris and around the world.
1876, Long Point Lighthouse is built.
1884, Population of Twillingate peaks at 3694, with more than 1500 Twillingate men employed in the Labrador fishery; Twillingate Sun is first published.
late 1800s, Twillingate is known as the "Capital of the North".
1894, Newfoundland Bank Crash severely slows Twillingate's economy.
1924, Notre Dame Bay Memorial Hospital opens in Twillingate, becoming the only hospital at the time between St. Anthony and St. John's.
1932, Dr. John McKee Olds arrives and in 1934 becomes medical superintendent and chief surgeon. He begins a long and distinguished medical career in Twillingate until the 1970s.
1973 Walter B. Elliot causeway built linking Twillingate Island to mainland Newfoundland.
|Queen Victoria's Profile
|The sea carved the image into the cliff.